AUDELCO Awards update — AUDELCO Awards — AAPEX

Thursday, October 20, 2011

AUDELCO Awards update


New York, NY (October 18) - Audelco (Audience Development Committee, Inc.) announces the nominees for the 2010-2011 Vivian Robinson/Audelco Recognition Awards for Excellence In Black Theatre.

Audelco was established in 1973 by Vivian Robinson, to generate more recognition, understanding and awareness of the arts in African-American communities; to provide better public relations and to build new audiences for non-profit theatre and dance companies.

For the past 39 years Audelco has promoted and celebrated African-American involvement in American Theatre. The Vivian Robinson/Audelco Awards known as the “VIV”, has become the pre-eminent recognition for African-American Theatre Artists.

The Academy Award nominated actor Samuel L. Jackson (currently starring in The Mountaintop, on Broadway) and his wife, the prolific performer (Sleepless InSeattle, Malcom X) LaTanya Richardson Jackson are serving as Honorary Co-Chairpersons. The Obie and Drama-Logue Award winning actress, singer and director Hattie Winston along with her husband, Tony nominated and Drama Desk Award winner Harold Wheeler (currently the Director/ orchestrator for the ABC hit Dancing With the Stars) will be this year’s Co-Chairpersons. Both Mr. Jackson and Miss Winston are previous Audelco Award winners. Also, NY-1 Anchor Cheryl Wills and Co founder of the Tony and Peabody award winning Def Poetry Jam Danny Simmons will be the Co-Hosts for the event.

This year's Rising Star Award will go to Eden Sanaa Duncan-Smith, who at age 11, made her Broadway debut as the character Raynell Maxon in 2010 Tony award winning revival of August Wilson’s Fences featuring Denzel Washington and Viola Davis, She is now Young Nala in Disney’s Broadway production of Lion King.
This year’s awards will be held on Monday, November 14, 2011, 6:30pm, at theHarlem Stage/Aaron Davis Hall, Inc., 133rd Street and Convent Avenue.

The 2010-2011 VIV Award Nominees are:

LIGHTING DESIGN Avan (Brothers from the Bottom) James Carter (The Shaneequa Chronicles) Jeff Croiter (By the Way, Meet Vera Stark) Shirley Prendergast (Knock Me a Kiss) Scott Stauffer (A Free Man of Color) Colin D. Young (Henry V)

SET DESIGN Felix Cochren (The Right Reverend Dupree in Exile) Felix Cochren (The Legend of Buster Neal) Chris Cumberbatch (The Shaneequa Chronicles) Anthony Davidson (Knock Me a Kiss) Neil Patel (By the Way, Meet Vera Stark)

COSTUME DESIGN Rachel Dozier-Ezell (Henry V) Esosa (By the way, Meet Vera Stark) Ann Hould –Ward (A Free Man of Color ) Helen Simmons-Collen (The Right Reverend Dupree in Exile) Ali Turns (Knock Me a Kiss) David Withrow (Antony & Cleopatra)

SOUND DESIGN John Gromeda (By the Way, Meet Vera Stark) Patricia Ju (Henry V) Sean O’Halloran (Cool Blues) Bill Toles (Knock Me a Kiss) Bert Price (The Shaneequa Chronicles) David D. Wright (Antony & Cleopatra)

DIRECTOR/DRAMATIC PRODUCTION Jackie Alexander (The Legend of Buster Neal) Jackie Alexander (The Right Reverend Dupree in Exile) Jo Bonney (By the Way, Meet Vera Stark) Thomas Kail (When I Come to Die) Petronia Paley (Antony & Cleopatra) Chuck Smith (Knock Me a Kiss)

DIRECTOR/MUSICAL PRODUCTION Daniel Beaty (Tearing Down the Walls) Lee Kirk (The Widow and Miss Mamie) Lorna Littleway (Juneteenth Blues Cabaret) Alfred Preisser (It Ain’t Nothin’ But the Blues) Ronald Wyche (Do Wop Love)

CHOREOGRAPHER Hope Clarke (A Free man of Color) Leslie Dockery (The Shaneequa Chronicles) Dell Howlett (Tearing Down the Wall) Tracy Jack (It Ain’t Nothin’ But the Blues) Michelle M. Robinson (Do Wop Love)

PLAYWRIGHT Jackie Alexander (The Legend of Buster Neal) Nathan Louis Jackson (When I Come to Die) Lynn Nottage (By the Way, Meet vera Stark) Roger Parris (Nobody Knew Where They Was) Charles Smith (Knock Me a Kiss)

SUPPORTING ACTOR Daniel Breaker (By the Way, Meet Vera Stark) Andre Holland (The Whipping Man) Morocco Omari (Knock Me a Kiss) Sean Phillips (Knock Me a Kiss) Jay Ward (Cool Blues)

SUPPORTING ACTRESS Gillian Glasco (Knock Me a Kiss) Kimberly Hebert Gregory (By the Way, Meet Vera Stark) Marie Thomas (Knock Me a Kiss) Amanda Mason Warren (When I Come to Die)

OUTSTANDING PERFORMANCE IN A MUSICAL – FEMALE Marvel Allen (The Widow and Miss Mamie) Dameka Hayes (It Ain’t Nothin’ But the Blues) Jannie Jones (Juneteenth Blues Cabaret) Adrienne C. Moore (Tearing Down the Wall) Toni Seawright (The Widow and Miss Mamie)

OUTSTANDING PERFORMANCE IN A MUSICAL – MALE Gerald Latham (It Ain’t Nothin’ But the Blues) Jevon McFerrin (Tearing Down the Wall) Tommie Thompson (The Widow and Miss Mamie)

OUTSTANDING MUSICAL DIRECTOR Jeffrey Bolding (It Ain’t Nothin’ But the Blues) Ron Granger (The Widow and Miss Mamie) Charles Mack (Tearing Down the Wall) Bert Price (Do Wop Love) Ivan Thomas (Juneteenth Blues Cabaret)

MUSICAL PRODUCTION OF THE YEAR Do Wop Love (National Black Theatre) It Ain’t Nothin’ But the Blues (New Haarlem Arts Theatre) Juneteenth Blues Cabaret (Juneteenth Legacy Theatre) Tearing Down the Wall (New Heritage Theatre Group) The Widow and Miss Mamie (Lee Kirk Productions)

OUTSTANDING ENSEMBLE PERFORMANCE Accept “Except” (National Black Theatre) Born Bad (Soho Rep) Do Wop Love (National Black Theatre) Playing with Heiner Muller (Castillo Theatre) The Legend of Buster Neal (Billie Holiday Theatre)

SOLO PERFORMANCE Stephanie Berry (The Shaneequa Chronicles) Miche Braden (The Devil’s Music: The Life and Blues of Bessie Smith) Cheryl Howard (The Sensational Josephine Baker) Nilaja Sun (No Child) LEAD ACTOR Andre Braugher (The Whipping Man) Chris Chalk (When I Come to Die) Andre De Shields (Knock Me a Kiss) Ty Jones (Henry V) Ralph McCain (The Right Reverend Dupree in Exile) Marcus Naylor (Cool Blues)

LEAD ACTRESS Debra Ann Byrd (Antony & Cleopatra) Erin Cherry (Knock Me a Kiss) Terria Joseph (Cool Blues) Sanaa Lathan (By the Way, Meet Vera Stark) Kimberlee Monroe (Nobody Knew they Was)

DRAMATIC PRODUCTION OF THE YEAR Antony & Cleopatra (Take Wind And Soar Productions) By the Way, Meet Vera Stark (2nd Stage) Knock Me a Kiss (New Federal Theatre/Legacy Creative Arts Co.) The Legend of Buster Neal (Billie Holiday Theatre) When I Come to Die (Lincoln Center Theatre)

The 39th Annual Vivian Robinson/AUDELCO Recognition Awards For Excellence in Black Theatre will take place on Monday, November 14, 2011 at the HarlemStage/ Aaron Davis Hall, 133rd Street & Convent Avenue, New York City. Tickets are on sale now ($150 orchestra, $75 mezzanine and $35 balcony) If you would like to attend, call now for tickets (212) 368- GENERATIONS Awards Presentation 6:30 pm Gala Reception 10:00 pm - 11:00 pm Location: HarlemStage/ Aaron Davis Hall, Inc 133RD STREET & CONVENT AVENUE, NEW YORK CITY

No comments:

Post a Comment